October 2

Thesis defences — Sept 16 to 20

The following is a list of thesis defences taking place at Brock from Monday, Sept. 16 to Friday, Sept. 20.All are open for the University community to attend.Master of Arts thesis defencesApplied Disability Studies Master of Arts student Nancy Leathen will defend the thesis “Comparing the High-Probability Instructional Sequence with and without Food to Increase Acceptance of Nonpreferred Foods in Children with Food Selectivity” on Monday, Sept. 16 at 11 a.m. in WH 147.Her examination committee includes Kate Bezanson, Chair; Kimberley Zonneveld, Supervisor; Mitchell Fryling, External Examiner (Associate Professor and Associate Chair, Division of Special Education and Counselling, California State University); Maurice Feldman, Graduate Program Director; and Tricia Vause and Ivy Chong, Committee Members.—Master of Arts in Social Justice and Equity Studies student Kevin Hobbs will defend the thesis “To Know Their Stories: Using Playbuilding to Develop a Training/Orientation Video on Person-Centred Care” on Monday, Sept. 16 at 11 a.m. in Plaza 600F.His examination committee includes Dawn Zinga, Chair; Joe Norris, Supervisor; Sandra Faulkner, External Examiner (Professor of Communication, Bowling Green State University); Mary-Beth Raddon, Graduate Program Director; and Madelyn Law and Spy Denomme-Welch, Committee Members.Master of Science thesis defencesJordan Fazio, a Master of Science candidate in the Department of Physics, will defend his thesis titled “An Analogue of the Laplace-Runge-Lenz Vector for Timelike Geodesics in Schwarzschild Spacetime” on Monday, Sept. 16 at 1 p.m. in MCH 313.His examination committee includes Robert Carlone, Chair; Stephen Anco, Supervisor; Cristina Stoica, External Examiner (Wilfrid Laurier University); and Bozidar Mitrovic and Edward Sternin, Committee Members.—HamidReza Nayeri, a Master of Science candidate in the Department of Physics, will defend his thesis titled “Travelling Wave Solutions on a Non-zero Background for the Generalized Korteweg-de Vries Equation” on Wednesday, Sept. 18 at 1 p.m. in WH 147.His examination committee includes Cheryl McCormick, Chair; Stephen Anco, Supervisor; Olga Trichtchenko, External Examiner (University of Western Ontario); and Kirill Samokhin and Edward Sternin, Committee Members. read more