January 14

‘Tsunami’ Victories

first_imgProvisional results from the 2014 Special Senatorial Election released via radio broadcast on the evening of Saturday, December 20, immediately following the closing of the polls nationwide, show a trend of sweeping leads in nearly all 15 counties – an indication of who might inarguably be certificated as the next ‘Senators’ for the next nine years.George Weah, the political leader for the Congress for Democratic Change (CDC), has demonstrated his right to the senatorial seat of Montserrado County, having convincingly whipped the President’s son (Robert Sirleaf) in the December 20 poll.Political commentators described the provisional results in Montserrado County as a “tsunami victory,’ while others termed it as a “sweet –sweeping victory.”The Liberian international football icon who turned politician is the first ever international athlete from Liberia to become a lawmaker.“Weah’s victory is enough to stop all the political wrangling, which resulted to violence, and dispel all demons and the rumors of war,” Ms. Cythia Weeks of Fiamah-Lakpazee said.Unity Party (UP) Chairman, Cllr. Varney Sherman, is also poised to win Grand Cape Mount County ahead of incumbent Senator Abel Massaley and Dr. FodayKromah, a former President of the National Oil Company of Liberia (NOCAL).The successful corporate Lawyer has proven to be popular amongst his kinsmen by their votes despite his opponents’ attempts at religious and tribal propaganda.In Grand Bassa County, Liberty Party’s Jonathan Kaipay is ahead of incumbent, Gbehzongar Milton Findley, President Pro Tempore of the Liberian Senate.Two-time defeated candidate, Amb. ConmanyB. Wesseh,is showing adecisive lead in River Gee County, while Steve Zargo in Lofa County appears to be locked in for the Senate.In Margibi County, Prof. AnsuSoniihad amassed more votes than that of determined incumbent Senator Clarice Jah, while Senator Chief Jewel Howard Taylor for Bong Countyis surprisingly fighting to maintain her status.Mr. Marshall Dennis is narrowly in the lead in Grand Gedeh County against Representative Zoe Emmanuel Pennoh, while incumbent SenatorLahaiLassanaofBomi County is showing much enthusiasm to beat the likes of Morris Saytumah, Cllr. Frances Johnson Allsion and others.CDC Representative Dr.  Bhofal Chamber is so-far has an easy lead in Maryland County, as well as Milton J. Teahjay for Sinoe County against incumbent Senator Mobutu V. Nyepahn. Madam Rosalind Sneh is topping the votes in Grand Kru County, as well as Daniel Naatehn for Gbarpolu County and Prince Y. Johnson for Nimba County; but Francis Paye is also in a narrow lead in River Cess County.Share this:Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)last_img read more